Clay County Commission


2023 Clay County Commission

In November 2020 the citizens of Clay County overwhelmingly approved the Clay County Constitution, establishing a new structure of governance. The Clay County Commission is an elected seven-member governing body with a Presiding Commissioner, Eastern-at-Large Commissioner, 2 Eastern Commissioners, Western-at-Large Commissioner, and 2 Western Commissioners. Commissioners are limited to serving two consecutive four-year terms in the same office.

The Commission provides leadership to the citizens of Clay County and the County staff, to ensure the efficient operation of County services and expenditure of public funds by:

  • Making general policy decisions and instructing the County Administrator to oversee the implementation and operation of such direction; and
  • Passing ordinances, resolutions, and proclamations to have a direct impact on the Clay County community; and
  • Adopting the County's annual Operating Budget and the five-year Capital Improvement Plan.

The Public is invited to attend all County Commission meetings or watch the Clay County Commission meeting live at the Clay County Website. The public may also view the archived video, at their convenience, within 24 hours of the conclusion of the meeting.

Commission District Map

Eastern District in Purple | Western District in Yellow